Our Story

O ur pharmacy was founded in 1886 by pharmacist Alfred Blumenthal and has its location in the heart of the Viennese Mariahilf district, Nr. 30 Gumpendorfer Straße. Since the 19th November 2006 we have been called SAINT CHARLES, with various familial entanglements and traditional European medicine being the main cause. On that same day the Saint Charles Cosmothecary (natural cosmetics) and the Alimentary (inn) were born.

What´s all this for? It´s quite simple: we can process the herbs we find on our doorstep into medicines, cosmetics or things to eat. Alexander Ehrmann, a sixth generation pharmacist, continues the family tradition at Saint Charles. He is a descendant of Martin Ehrmann, who in 1861 played an important role in the founding of the “Allgemeine österreichische Apothekerverein” (General Austrian Chemist’s Association) and who had numerous publications and books on pharmaceutical products and preparations.

The Saint Charles Pharmacy at Nr. 30 Gumpendorfer Straße in Viennas 6th district is the scientific and ethical backbone of each of its enterprises. In addition to numerous specialties from traditional European medicine Saint Charles also has all registered and conventional medicines available. Saint Charles Cosmetics and Naturals are Saint Charles Pharmacy´s organic own brand. Through the creation of this series pharmacist Alexander Ehrmann has been able to pursue his passion for the development of high-quality and effective natural remedies and cosmetics.

The Saint Charles Cosmothecary, our premium shop for natural cosmetics is located directly opposite the pharmacy. Producers and suppliers must on the one hand, meet the highest ecological and ethical criteria, and on the other be of outstanding, 100% purely organic quality.

At the Saint Charles Hideaway on the 1st floor of the Saint Charles Cosmothecary we offer soothing massages and beauty treatments. Amongst other things we also offer unique pregnancy treatments, which are thoughtfully adapted to your respective trimester.

The motto of our Saint Charles Alimentary Inn is “eat what you know”. This means only self-gathered foodstuffs and those produced/ hunted/ grown by friends make it to your plate. No supermarkets!

As diverse as the human being is, so too is the interdisciplinary range provided by the Saint Charles Complementary. The term derives from the Latin word “complementum” and refers to a multidisciplinary range, supplementary to conventional medicine of methods and practises varying from traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), yoga and general healthcare.

Since May 2009, Saint Charles has been an international company. Our sister, the Saint Charles Pharmacy Pariserstrasse is in Berlin.

Since the beginning of 2016 the Saint Charles Organics GmbH Team has been taking care of further brand development and international expansion.

Bücher Martin Ehrmann

Our Philosophy and Traditional European Medicine

Read more about our philosophy, why our DNA is firmly anchored with traditional European medicine and why innovation plays a decisive role.

Our Story

Unsere Apotheke wurde im Jahr 1886 von Apotheker Alfred Blumenthal gegründet und hat ihren Standort in der Gumpendorfer Straße 30 im Wiener Stadtteil Mariahilf. Seit 19. November 2006 heißt sie SAINT CHARLES. Gewisse familiäre Verstrickungen und die traditionelle Europäische Medizin sind daran schuld. Am selben Tag ist auch die Saint Charles Cosmothecary (Naturkosmetik) und Alimentary (Wirtshaus) zur Welt gekommen.

Warum das alles? Ganz einfach: Die Kräuter die wir vor unserer Haustür finden, können wir zu Heilmitteln verarbeiten, sie in der Kosmetik wirken lassen oder sie essen. Mag. pharm. Alexander Ehrmann führt als Apotheker in der 6-ten Generation die Tradition seiner Familie fort. Er ist ein Nachfahre von Martin Ehrmann, der 1861 maßgeblich an der Gründung des „Allgemeinen österreichischen Apothekervereins“ beteiligt war und zahlreiche Publikationen und Bücher zur pharmazeutischen Waren- und Präparatenkunde herausgab.

Die Saint Charles Apotheke in 1060 Wien, Gumpendorferstrasse 30 ist das wissenschaftliche und ethische Rückgrat und die Basis aller Unternehmungen. Sie führt neben unzähligen Spezialitäten aus der Traditionellen Europäischen Medizin natürlich auch alle registrierten schulmedizinischen Arzneimittel. Saint Charles Cosmetics und Naturals sind die biologischen Eigenlinien der Saint Charles Apotheke. Bei der Schöpfung dieser Serien kann Apotheker Alexander Ehrmann seiner Passion für die Entwicklung hochwertiger und – wirksamer Naturheilmittel und Kosmetika nachgehen.

Die Saint Charles Cosmothecary, unser Premiumshop für Naturkosmetik,  liegt der Apotheke gegenüber. Die Produzenten und Lieferanten müssen einerseits den höchsten ökologischen und ethischen Kriterien gerecht werden, ihre Produkte andererseits von herausragender, rein biologischer Qualität sein.

Im Saint Charles Hideaway, im 1. Stock der Saint Charles Cosmothecary, bieten wir wohltuende Massagen und Kosmetikbehandlungen an. Einzigartig sind wohl die auf das jeweiligen Trimenium abgestimmten Schwangerschaftsbehandlungen. Unter anderem.

Unser Wirtshaus Saint Charles Alimentary steht unter dem Motto ‚Iss was Du kennst‘. Ausschliesslich selbstgesammeltes und von persönlichen Freunden produziertes/gejagtes/angebautes kommt auf den Teller. No supermarket!

So vielseitig der Mensch ist, so interdisziplinär ist auch das Angebot des Saint Charles Complementary. Der Begriff Complementary leitet sich von dem lateinischen Wort ‚complementum’ ab und bezieht sich auf ein fächerübergreifendes, die Schulmedizin ergänzendes Angebot an Methoden und Praktiken aus der Traditionellen Chinesischen Medizin (TCM), dem Yogabereich und dem Gesundheitssegment.

Seit Mai 2009 ist Saint Charles international. Unsere Schwester, die Saint Charles Apotheke Pariserstrasse lebt in Berlin.

Um den weiteren Markenaufbau und die internationale Expansion kümmert sich seit Anfang 2016 das Team der Saint Charles Organics GmbH.

Bücher Martin Ehrmann

Unsere Philosophie und die Traditionelle europäische Medizin

Lesen sie mehr über unsere Philosophie, warum unsere DNA fest in der traditionellen europäische Medizin verankert ist und warum Innovation dabei eine entscheidende Rolle spielt.