OUR Story

From a pharmacy to a brand

Founded in 1886 by pharmacist Alfred Blumenthal, the pharmacy and its Offizin* in Vienna's Gumpendorfer Strasse, located between the popular Naschmarkt and the famous Mariahilferstrasse, is the historical centrepiece of Saint Charles. The historic apothecary cabinets from the time of the Austro-Hungarian monarchy, which have been preserved to this day, are not only contemporary witnesses, but rather symbols of the combination of a centuries-old tradition with a modern lifestyle. In 2006, pharmacist Mag. pharm. Alexander Ehrmann took over the historic pharmacy and founded Saint Charles. 

And with it a new and innovative understanding of how the tradition of pharmacy can be reinterpreted. In line with the spirit of holistic health, the natural cosmetics shop Cosmothecary, a small spa for treatments, an organic inn and a health centre for therapists were established alongside the pharmacy. Shortly afterwards, the Saint Charles Apotheke in Berlin was founded with pharmacist Sabine Zeeck.

Based on the teachings of traditional European medicine, the company relies on the healing power of nature and the local herbal world. In the areas of natural cosmetics, aromatherapy and herbal medicine, Saint Charles now offers a wide range of around 400 products for holistic well-being. The company was born out of a passion for reinterpreting ancient knowledge. 

Founder and Pharmacist Saint Charles

Mag. pharm. Alexander Ehrmann

Co-Founder & CEO Saint Charles

Richard König

In addition to the Saint Charles pharmacies in Berlin and Vienna, the Saint Charles family also includes Saint Charles stores in Frankfurt and Vienna, as well as numerous partners such as pharmacies, concept shops, natural cosmetics shops, restaurants, yoga studios or aromatherapists. In addition, Saint Charles products can be found in over 50 premium hotels in the Alpine region. Find out more on the page for Partner or Hotels.

Saint Charles attaches great importance to sustainability: The products are made of natural ingredients from preferably regional cultivation in organic quality or wild collection. Bottled in high-quality brown or violet glass bottles without any outer packaging. More about this on the page Ethics & Sustainability.

* Offizin: (lat. Officina) Production room in pharmacies for medicinal plants, spices and drugs with an adjoining sales room.

OUR Story

Von der Apotheke zur Marke

Im Jahre 1886 von Apotheker Alfred Blumenthal gegründet, ist die Apotheke und deren Offizin* in der Wiener Gumpendorfer Straße, gelegen zwischen dem beliebten Naschmarkt und der bekannten Mariahilferstraße, das historische Rückgrat von Saint Charles. Die bis heute erhaltenen Apothekerschränke aus der Zeit der österreichisch-ungarischen Monarchie sind dabei nicht nur Zeitzeugen, sondern vielmehr Symbol für die Verbindung einer Jahrhunderte alten Tradition mit modernem Lebensstil. 2006 übernahm Apotheker Mag. pharm. Alexander Ehrmann die historische Apotheke und gründete Saint Charles. Und damit ein neues und innovatives Verständnis wie die Tradition des Apothekertums neu interpretiert werden kann.

Mit der Gründung entstand - ganz im Sinne einer ganzheitlichen Sichtweise von Gesundheit - neben der Apotheke der Naturkosmetikshop Cosmothecary, ein kleiner Spa für Behandlungen, ein Bio-Wirtshaus und ein Gesundheitszentrum für Therapeuten. Kurz danach entstand mit Apothekerin Mag. Sabine Zeeck die Saint Charles Apotheke in Berlin.

Basierend auf der Lehre der Traditionellen Europäischen Medizin setzt das Unternehmen auf die Heilkraft der Natur und die heimische Kräuterwelt. In den Bereichen Naturkosmetik, Aromatherapie und Kräuterheilkunde bietet Saint Charles mittlerweile ein breites Sortiment von rund 400 Produkte für ganzheitliches Wellbeing. Entstanden aus der Leidenschaft altes Wissen neu zu interpretieren. 

Gründer und Apotheker Saint Charles

Mag. pharm. Alexander Ehrmann

Co-Gründer & CEO Saint Charles

Richard König

Zur Saint Charles Familie gehören neben den Saint Charles Apotheken in Berlin und Wien auch Saint Charles Stores in Frankfurt und Wien, sowie zahlreiche Partner wie Apotheken, Concept Stores, Naturkosmetik-Shops, Restaurants, Yogastudios oder Aromatherapeuten. Darüber hinaus sind Saint Charles Produkte in über 50 Premium Hotels in der Alpenregion zu finden. Mehr dazu auf der Seite für Partner oder Hotels.

Saint Charles legt dabei sehr viel Wert auf Nachhaltigkeit: Die Produkte bestehen aus natürlichen Inhaltsstoffen aus möglichst regionalem Anbau in Bio-Qualität oder Wildsammlung. Abgefüllt in hochwertigen Braun- oder Violettglasflaschen ohne jegliche Umverpackung. Mehr dazu auf der Seite Ethics & Sustainability.

* Offizin: (lat. Officina) Herstellungsraum in Apotheken für Heilpflanzen, Gewürze und Drogen mit angeschlossenem Verkaufsraum.